Toyota Trim levels -Tacoma TRD Off Road-Camry Special Edition-Tacoma Limited

Learn How to Better Understand Toyota Trim Level Designations at Gale Toyota

What Are the Different Toyota Trim Levels?

Finding a brand-new Toyota should be an exciting experience for car shoppers and often is. When you start researching years, makes, models, trim levels, available packages and color options, however, the sheer extent of information can prove to be overwhelming. At Gale Toyota, we understand your frustration and want to help.

It can be difficult to keep the 2016 Toyota RAV4 trim levels straight with so many acronyms and special editions, not to mention available features. Many car shoppers often ask — what are the different Toyota trim levels? While there is no short, direct answer, we can definitely help you understand how each model organizes its trim levels a little better.

Tips to Understand Basic Toyota Trim Level Designations

When you dive into the deep end of the Toyota trim level pool, it may seem disorienting at first. There are so many L’s and S’s and sometimes even LE’s. Before you panic, just take a second to breathe and take a look at a few tips to understand basic Toyota trim level designations. A good thing to remember when exploring the multitude of Toyota trim level acronyms is that they often build on the previous trim level. Check out some basic designations below before we get into specific models.

  • L – Entry Level Grade
  • LE – Luxury Edition
  • S – Sport
  • SE – Sport Edition
  • XLE – Executive Luxury Edition
  • XSE – Executive Sport Edition
  • Trail – Trail Rated Edition
  • Limited – Luxury Grade
  • SR – Sport Rally
  • SR5 – Sport Rally 5-Speed
  • TRD – Toyota Racing Development
2017 Toyota Corolla 50th Anniversary Edition Badge
Black 2016 Toyota Tundra Platinum Badge

Popular Toyota Models and Trim Level Designations

Now that you have a basic understanding of many trim level designations, we will take a closer look at some popular models here at Gale Toyota. When you are trying to find the 2016 Toyota Tacoma trim level that fits you best, it is important to understand how the model lineup and trim levels work. Here are some favorite models with a list of basic to luxury trim levels.

2016 Toyota Tacoma


2016 Toyota RAV4


  • RAV4 LE
  • RAV4 XLE
  • RAV4 SE
  • RAV4 Limited

2016 Toyota Camry


2016 Toyota Corolla


  • Corolla L
  • Corolla LE
  • Corolla LE Eco
  • Corolla S
  • Corolla Special Edition

2016 Toyota Highlander


  • Highlander LE
  • Highlander LE Plus
  • Highlander XLE
  • Highlander Limited

2016 Toyota Tundra


  • Tundra SR
  • Tundra SR5
  • Tundra Limited
  • Tundra TRD Pro
  • Tundra Platinum
  • Tundra 1794 Edition

READ MORE: What Are the 2016 Toyota Highlander Trim Level Features?

We hope this overview of Toyota trim level designations has proven helpful when you explore the Gale Toyota inventory for your next vehicle. If you have any more questions about — what are the different Toyota trim levels — we will be more than happy to help. Contact the Gale Toyota sales team with any questions you may have about specific models, trim levels or features.