New 2016 Toyota IIHS Top Safety Picks at Gale Toyota-Enfield CT-2016 Toyota Camry IIHS Top Safety Pick+

Toyota Models Achieve IIHS Top Safety Pick+ Status

New 2016 Toyota IIHS Top Safety Picks

The superlatives used to describe the Toyota brand are seemingly endless and they have improved even further with four IIHS Top Safety Pick+ awards that will be added to the brand’s trophy case. If you are looking for premium safety in your next vehicle, these four Toyota editions are at the top of their respective classes and are sure to keep you and your family safe on the road. Take a closer look at the new 2016 Toyota IIHS Top Safety Picks, how they achieve these ratings and which models are the safest.

Which Toyota Models Offer Award-Winning Safety?

As we mentioned above, four 2016 Toyota models available in the Gale Toyota inventory have been awarded an IIHS Top Safety Pick+ rating. Awards and ratings from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety come in two separate tiers, Top Safety Pick and Top Safety Pick+. All four Toyota models have earned the elite Top Safety Pick+ rating and include some fan favorites.

READ MORE: Stay Safe this Winter and Learn How to Winterize Your Toyota

The best-selling 2016 Toyota Camry offers award-winning safety in addition to a dynamic driving experience. Drivers looking for an efficient, family-friendly drive that comes with elite crash test ratings, the 2016 Toyota Prius V fits the bill. Are you looking for a combination of luxury and safety? The 2016 Toyota Avalon is a Top Safety Pick+ and an opulent, class-leading large sedan. Drivers looking for versatile performance will also love the 2016 Toyota RAV4 and its premier crash test ratings.

Toyota Camry Airbag Warning Light

What is an IIHS Top Safety Pick+?

In order to earn an IIHS Top Safety Pick or Top Safety Pick+, vehicles must demonstrate exceptional crash test ratings in addition to offering innovative collision-prevention systems. Models that earn a basic Top Safety Pick rating must achieve a “Good” rating in five rigorous crash tests that analyze — small overlap front, moderate overlap front, side, roof strength and head restraints. They must also demonstrate a “Basic” rating in front collision prevention.

READ MORE: Toyota Tops Consumer Reports Reliability Ratings

Toyota editions that manage to achieve the coveted IIHS Top Safety Pick+ rating must undergo the same battery of crash tests and demonstrate exceptional resilience. What sets these models apart from standard Top Safety Picks is an “Advanced” or “Superior” rating for front crash prevention. With available safety systems equipped, these models are capable of alerting you to impending collisions or even automatically braking in the event of a potential accident.

Safety is a premium for many of you who stop and see us here at Gale Toyota and now with new 2016 Toyota IIHS Top Safety Picks on record, you can make a more informed decision when it comes to your family safety. These four Toyota models when properly equipped with crash-prevention systems are some of the safest on the road and are sure to keep you safe this winter. If that sounds like something you are looking for, stop in today at Gale Toyota and schedule a test drive in a new Toyota.